BOX OFFICE 202.785.9727

Washington Performing Arts proudly presents an international array of orchestras—a cornerstone of each season’s programming—each performing works that speak to its identity and mission.

Sir Andrew Davis, conductor
Garrick Ohlsson, piano

Wednesday, October 16, 2019, 8:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall

Jahja Ling, conductor
Paul Huang, violin
Felix Fan, cello

Friday, November 15, 2019, 8:00 PM
The Music Center at Strathmore

Iván Fischer, conductor
Gerhild Romberger, contralto

Friday, February 21, 2020, 8:00 PM
The Music Center at Strathmore

Courtney Lewis, conductor
Anthony McGill, clarinet

Tuesday, March 24, 2020, 8:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall

Marin Alsop, conductor
Cristina Pato, bagpipes
Kayhan Kalhor, kamancheh
David Krakauer, clarinet
Michael Ward-Bergeman, hyper-accordion
Washington Performing Arts Men & Women of the Gospel Choir

Wednesday, March 25, 2020, 8:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall

Aram Demirjian, conductor
Julia Bullock, soprano
The University of Tennessee Symphony Brass
R.B. Morris, Knoxville Poet Laureate, speaker

Friday, March 27, 2020, 8:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall

Classical Theatre of Harlem
Peter Francis James, director

Saturday, March 28, 2020, 8:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall

Stéphane Denève, principal guest conductor
Kelly O'Connor, mezzo-soprano

Wednesday, April 15, 2020, 8:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall

Kevin John Edusei, conductor
Sheku Kanneh-Mason, cello

Tuesday, April 21, 2020, 8:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall

The 2019/20 season features chamber performances by a number of the world’s premier soloists.

Saturday, October 19, 2019, 2:00 PM
Kennedy Center Terrace Theater

Mysteries of the Universe

Tuesday, October 29, 2019, 8:00 PM
Kennedy Center Terrace Theater
Sunday, November 17, 2019, 2:00 PM
Kennedy Center Terrace Theater

Julio Elizade, piano

Wednesday, January 22, 2020, 7:30 PM
Kennedy Center Terrace Theater

Midori, violin
Jean-Yves Thibaudet, piano

Saturday, January 25, 2020, 8:00 PM
The Music Center at Strathmore

Lambert Orkis, piano

Saturday, February 1, 2020, 3:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall

Paul Lewis, piano
Steven Osborne, piano

Tuesday, February 18, 2020, 7:30 PM
Kennedy Center Terrace Theater

& Michael Barenboim

Thursday, February 27, 2020, 7:30 PM
Kennedy Center Terrace Theater
Wednesday, March 4, 2020, 8:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall
Sunday, March 8, 2020, 7:30 PM
Kennedy Center Terrace Theater

Terry Riley's Sun Rings
with the Choral Arts Chamber Singers

Friday, March 13, 2020, 8:00 PM
GW Lisner Auditorium
Friday, March 20, 2020, 8:00 PM
The Music Center at Strathmore

A Brief (and Modern) History of Piano Etudes

Sunday, April 5, 2020, 2:00 PM
Kennedy Center Terrace Theater

Valley of Wonderment

Tuesday, April 14, 2020, 7:30 PM
Kennedy Center Terrace Theater
Saturday, April 25, 2020, 8:00 PM
Sixth & I
Wednesday, May 6, 2020, 8:00 PM
The Music Center at Strathmore
Tuesday, May 12, 2020, 7:30 PM
Kennedy Center Terrace Theater
Friday, May 15, 2020, 7:30 PM
Kennedy Center Terrace Theater

Special guest: Meow Meow

Sunday, October 13, 2019, 7:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall

Joy to the World

Saturday, December 7, 2019, 8:00 PM
Sixth & I

Washington Performing Arts Gospel Choirs
Michele Fowlin & Theodore Thorpe III, artistic directors
Stanley J. Thurston, artistic director emeritus
Choral Arts Society of Washington
Scott Tucker, artistic director

Sunday, January 26, 2020, 7:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall

Iván Fischer, conductor
Gerhild Romberger, contralto

Friday, February 21, 2020, 8:00 PM
The Music Center at Strathmore

Terry Riley's Sun Rings
with the Choral Arts Chamber Singers

Friday, March 13, 2020, 8:00 PM
GW Lisner Auditorium
Saturday, March 21, 2020, 8:00 PM
Sixth & I

Marin Alsop, conductor
Cristina Pato, bagpipes
Kayhan Kalhor, kamancheh
David Krakauer, clarinet
Michael Ward-Bergeman, hyper-accordion
Washington Performing Arts Men & Women of the Gospel Choir

Wednesday, March 25, 2020, 8:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall

Aram Demirjian, conductor
Julia Bullock, soprano
The University of Tennessee Symphony Brass
R.B. Morris, Knoxville Poet Laureate, speaker

Friday, March 27, 2020, 8:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall

Classical Theatre of Harlem
Peter Francis James, director

Saturday, March 28, 2020, 8:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall

Stéphane Denève, principal guest conductor
Kelly O'Connor, mezzo-soprano

Wednesday, April 15, 2020, 8:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall
Sunday, May 3, 2020, 5:00 PM
GW Lisner Auditorium

Michele Fowlin, artistic director (COTG)
Theodore Thorpe III, artistic director (MWOTG)
Stanley J. Thurston, artistic director emeritus

Sunday, June 7, 2020, 7:00 PM
The Music Center at Strathmore

The 2019/20 jazz roster boasts legends and rising stars alike, delving into a range of styles from Latin jazz to bebop to the Great American Songbook and more.

Special guest: Meow Meow

Sunday, October 13, 2019, 7:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall

with Christian McBride & Brian Blade

Wednesday, October 30, 2019, 8:00 PM
The Music Center at Strathmore
Saturday, February 15, 2020, 8:00 PM
Sixth & I
Saturday, February 29, 2020, 8:00 PM
Sixth & I
Saturday, March 21, 2020, 8:00 PM
Sixth & I
Saturday, May 9, 2020, 8:00 PM
Sixth & I
Saturday, May 16, 2020, 8:00 PM
Sixth & I

with Wynton Marsalis
Jazz Ambassadors:
The Music of Duke, Dizzy, Brubeck, and Goodman

Thursday, May 21, 2020, 8:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall

Washington Performing Arts continues its commitment to global culture and education with events that spotlight distinctive performers and programs and celebrate world cultures in D.C. These and other programs intersect with our Embassy Adoption Program and Mars Arts D.C.

Saturday, November 16, 2019, 8:00 PM
Sixth & I
Saturday, February 8, 2020, 8:00 PM
Sixth & I

Marin Alsop, conductor
Cristina Pato, bagpipes
Kayhan Kalhor, kamancheh
David Krakauer, clarinet
Michael Ward-Bergeman, hyper-accordion
Washington Performing Arts Men & Women of the Gospel Choir

Wednesday, March 25, 2020, 8:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall
Friday, April 24, 2020, 8:00 PM
GW Lisner Auditorium
Saturday, May 16, 2020, 8:00 PM
Sixth & I

Joy to the World

Saturday, December 7, 2019, 8:00 PM
Sixth & I

Washington Performing Arts Gospel Choirs
Michele Fowlin & Theodore Thorpe III, artistic directors
Stanley J. Thurston, artistic director emeritus
Choral Arts Society of Washington
Scott Tucker, artistic director

Sunday, January 26, 2020, 7:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall

Terry Riley's Sun Rings
with the Choral Arts Chamber Singers

Friday, March 13, 2020, 8:00 PM
GW Lisner Auditorium
Saturday, April 25, 2020, 8:00 PM
Sixth & I

Love Heals All Wounds

Friday, May 1, 2020, 8:00 PM
GW Lisner Auditorium

with Wynton Marsalis
Jazz Ambassadors:
The Music of Duke, Dizzy, Brubeck, and Goodman

Thursday, May 21, 2020, 8:00 PM
Kennedy Center Concert Hall