Anna Geniushene, piano

Hayes Piano Series

Hayes Piano Series
Sat, Apr 27, 2:00 p.m.
Kennedy Center Terrace Theater

Van Cliburn International Piano Competition Silver Medalist (2022) Anna Geniushene brings powerful sound, technical precision, emotional depth, yet a notably carefree ease belying the immense difficulty of her programs. Her Hayes Piano Series debut features an intriguing program of Opus One–the very first–works by Schumann, Clementi, Chopin, Brahms, Tchaikovsky, Schumann, Berg, and Weinberg.

Washington Performing Arts is committed to ensuring visitors of all abilities can experience the performances and programs we present. We partner with our venues to ensure accommodations are available. For specific questions about accessibility at our Kennedy Center events, please visit or contact us at

Program Details

Muzio Clementi – Piano Sonata in E-flat Major, op.1
Pytor Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Two Pieces, op. 1
Frédéric Chopin – Rondo in C minor, op. 1
Mieczyslaw Weinberg – Wiegnlied, op. 1
Robert Schumann – Abegg Variations, op. 1
Alban Berg – Trio Sonata in B Minor, op. 1
Johannes Brahms – Piano Sonata No. 1 in C Major, op. 1

“I couldn’t help but equate Anna Geniushene’s seasoned pianism to Cliburn at his best.”


Our Partners

This performance is made possible through the generous support of the following sponsors: Billy Rose Foundation; Ellen and Michael Gold; and Dallas Morse Coors Foundation for the Performing Arts.

The Hayes Piano Series is made possible in part through the generous support of Susan S. Angell.

Washington Performing Arts’s classical music performances this season are made possible in part through the generous support of Betsy and Robert Feinberg.

This is one of fourteen 2023-2024 season performances included in Washington Performing Arts’s The World in Our City initiative, which promotes cross-cultural understanding and cultural diplomacy via the presentation of international visiting artists, globally inspired local programming, and the award-winning Embassy Adoption Program, a partnership with D.C. Public Schools. Support for The World in Our City is provided by The Boeing Company.

Special thanks to the following lead supporters of Washington Performing Arts’s mission-driven work: Jacqueline Badger Mars and Mars, Incorporated; D.C. Commission on the Arts and Humanities; the National Capital Arts and Cultural Affairs Program and the U.S. Commission of Fine Arts; and The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation.

This performance is an external rental presented in coordination with the Kennedy Center Campus Rentals Office and is not produced by the Kennedy Center.

Become A Friend

Your support funds the wide-ranging artistic work that inspires, educates, and connects us.