BOX OFFICE 202.785.9727

Mars Arts D.C. is the new name of Washington Performing Arts’ signature community engagement project (formerly known as the Mars Urban Arts Initiative). Soon to enter its sixth year, the program has grown steadily to new heights with artist residencies, new partnerships, events in venues across all eight wards of the District, and robust integration with the Washington Performing Arts main stage series, World in Our City global programming initiative, and signature education programs.

The logo reflects the vibrant partnership between Washington Performing Arts, Jacqueline Badger Mars, and Mars, Incorporated, which is one of metro D.C.’s hometown companies. We share a passion for D.C. artists and our city’s many communities. The diamonds, which are paired with an interpretation of the D.C. flag, reflect the shape of the nation’s capital, while the “M” (in Mars, Incorporated) evokes the geometric elements of the Washington Performing Arts logo, speaking to how both organizations are embedded in the work of Mars Arts D.C.

Use our custom Google Maps tool to explore Mars Arts D.C.’s wide range of programs and venues across D.C. in the 2018/19 Season.

For more information, email Nicholas Alexander Brown at nbrown@washingtonperformingarts.org.


UPCOMING EVENTS
Taipei Symphony Orchestra Chamber Ensemble: Thu, Nov 14, 7:30pm • Meyer Auditorium, Freer Gallery of Art (Free, tickets required)
Mars Arts D.C. Showcase: YÀNJÚ & Sheila: Thu, Nov 21, 5-9pm • Madam's Organ (Free, tickets required)
Uptown Boyz: Live at The LINE: Sun, Nov 23, 3pm • The LINE DC (Free, no tickets required)
Union Station Tree Lighting: Tue, Dec 3, 6pm • Union Station Main Hall (Free, reservation recommended)
The Capital Hearings: Live at The LINE: Sat, Dec 7, 2pm • The LINE DC (Free, no tickets required)

PAST EVENTS
Elena & Los Fulanos: Fri, Sep 28, 8pm • Dupont Underground
MUAI at "The Ask Rayceen Show"
Wed, Oct 3, 7pm • HRC Equality Center 
DuPont Brass: Fri, Oct 5, 9pm • Pearl Street Warehouse 
VeVe & tha Rebels: Sat, Oct 6, 3pm • The Farm at Kelly Miller 
Yaya Bey: Fri, Oct 12, 8pm • Dupont Underground
Portales/Gateways Exhibition Open House: Fri, Oct 19, 5:30pm • Carlos Rosario School
Brad Linde, saxophone: Sat, Oct 20, 6pm • Politics & Prose (Connecticut Ave)
Josanne Francis, steelpan: Fri, Nov 9, 8pm • Dupont Underground
With a Grateful Heart: A Gospel Thanksgiving
: Sun, Nov 18, 4:30pm • Duke Ellington School of the Arts
VeVe & tha Rebels: Mon, Nov 26, 6pm • Kennedy Center Millennium Stage 
Holiday Celebration: Tree Lighting & Yo-Yo Ma Simulcast: Thu, Nov 29, 6pm • Union Station
VeVe & tha Rebels: Live at The LINESat, Dec 1, 5pm • The LINE DC 
Children of the Gospel Choir: Wed, Dec 5, 6pm • Kennedy Center Millennium Stage 
Cantaré: Sun, Dec 9, 2pm & 3pm • Politics & Prose (Connecticut Ave)
Reverb: Sat, Dec 15, 2pm & 3pm • Politics & Prose (Connecticut Ave) 
Elsbeth Fager, flute: Sat, Dec 22, 11am & 12pm • Politics & Prose (Connecticut Ave) 
Komitas Trio: Sun, Dec 23, 2pm & 3pm • Politics & Prose (Connecticut Ave) 
DuPont Brass: Sun, Jan 20, 6pm • Kennedy Center Millennium Stage 
Latinx in DC Showcase Concert: Mon, Jan 28, 6pm • Kennedy Center Millennium Stage 
Voices of Change: Tue, Jan 29, 6pm • Kennedy Center Millennium Stage 
Music Distilled: Classically Dope: Sat, Feb 2, 2pm • Republic Restoratives 
Promised Lands? Of Leaving and Longing
(Vocal Recital): Sun, Feb 10, 2pm • All Soul's Church, Unitarian
Latinx Immigrant Stories & The Arts (Panel Discussion): Wed, Feb 27, 6pm • Embassy of Peru 
Master Class: Kronos Quartet: Sat, Mar 2, 11am • Freer Gallery 
Immigration Book Discussion Series (Part 1): Tue, Mar 5, 7pm • Politics & Prose Union Market 
Latinx in DC Showcase: Jonathan Acosta Band: Sun, Mar 10, 3pm • GALA Hispanic Theatre 
The State of U.S. Immigration Policy (panel discussion): Tue, Mar 12, 7pm • NYU DC 
Cissa Paz Band: Live at The LINE: Sat, Mar 16, 5pm • The LINE DC
Southeast DC Night at Dupont Underground: Fri, Mar 22, 7pm • Dupont Underground 
Veronica Swift & The U.S. Air Force Band: Live at The LINE
: Sun, Mar 31, 5pm • The LINE DC 
Wavelength Winds with Rita Sloan, piano: Thu, Apr 4, 12pm • Goethe Institut 
Anacostia River Festival: Sat, Apr 20, 1-5pm • Anacostia Park 
Immigration Book Discussion Series (Part 2) • Tue, Apr 30, 7pm • Mt. Pleasant Neighborhood Library 
Immigration Book Discussion Series (Part 3) • Tue, May 7, 7pm • Solid State Books 
Art on 8th feat. Elena & Los Fulanos • Thu, May 16, 5-8pm • Monroe Street Market
DuPont Brass • Fri, May 31, 8pm • THEARC (Free registration)
DowntownDC Live feat. Cissa Paz with JP Silva Thu, Jun 6, 12-2pm • Franklin Square Park 
Politics & Art: District Vox: Thu, Jun 13, 5:30pm • The John A. Wilson Building
Go-Go Book Club: Tue, Jun 18; Thu, Jul 18; Thu, Aug 15 • Solid State Books 
Summer Concerts on the Lawn: Thursdays at 7pm, Jul 11–Aug 15 • Library of Congress 
Music Business Workshop: Mon, Aug 26, 6:30-8pm • Petworth Library (Free, registration required)
DuPont Brass: Fri, Aug 30, 7pm • U Street Music Hall (Tickets $10 advance/$15 day of show)
Exhibit Opening: Countlesshapes of Black feat. guitarist Cristian Perez: Sat, Sep 7, 5-8pm • The Frame Factory
Jonny Grave Quartet: Sat, Oct 19, 5pm • The LINE DC (Free, no tickets required)
CAMP at The LINE DC x Washington Performing Arts: Sun, Oct 20, 11am-8pm • The LINE DC 
The Music of Agustín Barrios Mangoré: Sat, Oct 26, 2-4pm • West End Library 
Music Distilled: The String Queens: Sat, Nov 2, 2-5pm • Republic Restoratives 

Mars Arts D.C. is a partnership of Mars Incorporated and Washington Performing Arts, with support from Jacqueline Badger Mars.